Among the sights of Sweden old Lech castle is notable for its age and fantastic architecture. Built in 1298 by Bishop Brynolf Algotsson, it often changed owners (including the Royal family) until it became the property of the Swedish state. In fairness we must admit that the original building has remained virtually the Foundation.
In 1470 there occurred a strong fire and the new owner, the Bishop of Brynolf Verlassen, rebuilding it anew. During the reformation the castle became the property of king Gustav I Vasa. In 1543 the owner of the castle becomes the Regent Sture Swant. Then his cousin, Hobenshield Belike. For two years the castle became the property of Sweden, so the king struggled with the extravagance among the nobility. After the execution Bilke, accused of treason, the castle was a wedding present to the Duke Johan Estergetland.
Each owner made changes to the project. Further reconstruction, especially when the Chancellor of Delagardi in 1615, made his masterpiece and a triumph of the Baroque style, only emerging at that time in Scandinavia. For restoration invited the best artists, architects and sculptors of the world. At that time the castle was at its peak. Its name, the castle was in 1684 when its owner became a burnt, Papagaya called “the captain of the Lech”.
Architectural masterpiece is located in a very picturesque place. It is a small island Callands near the city of Lidköping. On one side it is washed by lake Vänern, and with another so-called dug the göta canal, which conducts cruise tours. To get to the sights is possible only by the bridge. From the Windows of the tour bus it seems as if castle hangs in the air above the water. Very interesting and informative journey through the halls, designed in different theme styles.
In the Knights ‘ hall contains a large collection of weapons of the middle ages, the hall painting is an ancient painting. Here is a collection of war trophies, battle paintings. State hall are decorated with a large fresco on the ceiling depicting the gods of Olympus. On the wall are portraits of the kings of Europe. Admired and Stone hall is the former reception room of king Gustav VI. Its walls are hung with tapestries depicting the coronation. The castle home has a spacious Church, built in the XVII century in Baroque style.
Summer visit to the castle is allowed to everyone. Excursions are led by guides polyglots, so that tourists of any country here, all show and tell. But first of all will offer a walk around the castle. It is impossible not to admire the garden , the lay-out which worked the architect Carlo Carove. Visitors can examine the display in various exhibitions. Here is the art for every taste: from medieval to modern trends. In the courtyard of the castle hosts Opera performances. You can sit in the cosy restaurant.
Because each of the owners has anything been reinforced and rebuilt, it has expanded to 250 rooms. Today its dimensions are only slightly less Royal Palace in Stockholm. Gradually returns to his castle home furnishings and furniture, thoroughly sold in the mid-nineteenth century at auction.